Car Accident - Ft. Lauderdale Criminal Defense LawyerState law mandates that you have to stop if you’ve gotten into a traffic accident, but you don’t always have to call the police if you don’t want to.

If you do get into a traffic accident, and you don’t stop your car, you can be charged with a crime. The punishment can vary, depending on how severe the accident is.

Florida Statute 316.065 says that you don’t have to call in a traffic accident if there was no damage over $500 and no serious injuries or death. However, you do have to stop, pull over to the side of the road, and exchange contact, insurance, and registration information with the other driver. If you don’t do that, you can be charged with a 2nd degree misdemeanor. A 2nd degree misdemeanor can be serious. You could spend up to two months in jail and owe a penalty of $500.

Florida Statute 316.061(2) says that if you’re in an accident where there are no injuries or death, but there is damage in excess of $500, then you must stop, and you must give either the other driver or a police officer your contact information, insurance, and registration. You are not required to admit blame or fault for the accident. You’re only required to exchange information with the other driver.

Florida Statute 316.027(2)(a) says that if you are in an accident where there are injuries, but no death, you must stop, help the injured, call police, and exchange information. If you fail to do this, you can be charged with a 3rd degree felony.

Florida Statute 316.027(2)(b) says that if you get into an accident with serious injuries, you must stop, call police, assist the injured, and exchange information. If you fail to do that, you can be charged with a 2nd degree felony. If you don’t do that, you could get 15 years in prison and have to pay out $10,000.

Florida Statute 316.027(2)(C) says that if you are in an accident where there is death, you must stop, call law enforcement, and provide your information. If you fail to do so, you could be charged with a 1st degree felony. You could spend between 4 and 30 years in prison and be forced to pay a $10,000 fine.

Car Accident - Broward Criminal Defense AttorneyNo matter what kind of accident you’ve been in, you have to stop. If you don’t do so, you could lose a lot of money and even your freedom. You don’t want to chance it. If you’ve been in accident of any kind, and you didn’t do what was mandated by the law, you need to get in touch with a Broward traffic lawyer right away. A Broward criminal defense attorney can give you a solid defense. Don’t leave it to chance. Contact a Ft. Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer if you’ve been involved in an accident of any kind and didn’t do what was legally required by Florida state law.

We handle a variety of criminal law cases, so call us now if you have any questions, (954) 256-1464.

View more contact information here: Ft. Lauderdale Criminal Defense Lawyer.