Consequences for Driving on a Suspended License - Fort Lauderdale Criminal AttorneyIf your license has been suspended in Florida, you really don’t want to get caught driving. You can face a number of criminal consequences, ranging from fines to prison time. Your license may have been suspended over a small issue at first but if you continue to drive on a suspended license you will only make things worse. If you’re a repeat offender, you could be sentenced up to five years in prison and pay up to $5,000 in fines. If you get caught driving without a license, your first move should be to call a Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney.

What is the difference between a revoked or suspended license?

Most people don’t know the difference and they use the terms interchangeably.  In Florida, you can have your license suspended on a temporary basis, or have it revoked permanently. Needless to say, the latter is much worse. How would you like to never be able to drive again? It really depends on how severe the civil or criminal matter was that led to the punishment. Florida Statute 322.01(40) is a revocation, and it means that the state of Florida can take away your right to drive completely. Florida Statue 322.01(36) is just a suspension. A suspension is when your right to drive is temporarily taken away.

Obviously, suspension is the lesser of the two. A civil offense might lead to this type of sanction. For example, you might be behind on your child support. To punish you, a judge may suspend your license until you get caught up on your payments. A license may also be suspended if you’ve been arrested for a DUI, if you have too many tickets, or if you were caught speeding.

If you get caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, you don’t want to call just any criminal law firm in Fort Lauderdale. Your average Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney might not be able to help you all that much. You need one with a lot of experience in this field. A great Fort Lauderdale criminal attorney has a better chance of getting your charges dismissed. A great criminal defense lawyer in Fort Lauderdale is worth every penny.

When is revocation possible?

Revocation is a more serious penalty, and a judge is much less likely to revoke your license. They are more likely to suspend it. Nonetheless, they might revoke it under the following circumstances:

  • A manslaughter or murder charge that was caused by driving;
  • Having too many DUI convictions
  • A felony conviction if a car was used during the criminal act;
  • A hit and run where someone was killed or injured;
  • A number of reckless driving charges.

What are the penalties for driving without a license?

Fort Lauderdale Criminal Attorney - Consequences for Driving on a Suspended LicenseIf you’re stopped on the road with a suspended or revoked license, the penalty will be based on whether or not it is your first offense, and what kind of charge led to the revocation or suspension in the first place.

You could face up to two months in jail and a $500 fine for a first-time conviction on a second-degree misdemeanor. You could go to prison for up to five years for a third or subsequent conviction on a felony charge.

If you’ve been caught driving with a suspended or revoked license, don’t face the legal system on your own. Contact a lawyer who can help you get through the mess. Your driver’s license is too important to leave to a bad lawyer.

We handle a variety of criminal law cases, so call us now if you have any questions, (954) 256-1464.

View more contact information here: Fort Lauderdale Criminal Attorney.