What places aren’t concealed weapons allowed in - Fort Lauderdale Criminal Lawyer ExplainsConcealed Weapons Aren’t Allowed Here

The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in Florida issues licenses to carry concealed firearms to certain, select people. A concealed firearm can be anything from a handgun, to a knife, to a billie club.

Concealed handgun licenses are valid for a period of 7 years from the time they are issued. Whenever someone is carrying their concealed firearm, they have to carry the license with them and be able to show a police officer the license whenever he asks for it.

There are some general requirements for being legally allowed to carry a concealed firearm. Let’s go through some of them now.

  • You need to be at least 21 years old.
  • You can’t have any kind of physical disability or ailment that could make handling a firearm safely a problem
  • You cannot have been convicted of a felony before
  • You don’t have any kind of domestic violence restraining order filed against you
  • You haven’t had a substance abuse problem
  • You don’t have an alcohol or drug problem
  • You must have completed a firearm safety educational course of some kind

There are some places you just can’t bring a firearm.

You cannot bring concealed handguns into a court house, police station, courthouse, detention facility, courtroom, theme park, school or college, or a nightclub or bar, or anywhere where alcohol is sold.

Any intentional and willful violation of this section is a second degree misdemeanor, and you could get up to two months in jail and a fine of up to $500. A Fort Lauderdale Criminal Lawyer can advise you best on your next move.

Concealed Weapons Aren’t Allowed Here - Fort Lauderdale Criminal Lawyer ExplainsAs you can see, there are a lot of requirements for being able to carry a gun in Florida. You have to meet the eligibility requirements and go through a lot before you can get a handgun license. If you get caught without one, you could end up in hot water and need a Fort Lauderdale defense attorney to help get you out of trouble. If you don’t have a handgun license, but you’ve been caught with a gun, call a good criminal defense attorney today. It could be the best move you make to preserve your freedom. It could also increase your chances of being able to carry a handgun in the future. Talk through everything with a Broward defense attorney so you can be sure of being cleared of wrongdoing.

If you’ve been caught with a weapon, but you don’t have a license, then you need to call a Broward criminal defense lawyer today. Call a reputable Broward criminal law office if you’re in doubt about what to do now that you’ve been charged. A Fort Lauderdale Criminal Lawyer can walk you through the whole process and help you understand what to do next.

We handle a variety of criminal law cases, so call us now if you have any questions, (954) 256-1464.

View more contact information here: Fort Lauderdale Criminal Lawyer.